Just a simple update

It’s been a rather busy time in my neck of the woods, since my last post (which was a month ago) things have taken a drastic change.  I have kept this quiet up until now. I bought a house, Truth be told I purchased the house at the beginning of December.

This is my first really major purchase, ever.  To me the purchase of a house signifies growing up, something that I am quite honestly terrified of doing.  Don’t get me wrong, I have purchased large things in the past, when I was 18 I bought a brand new car.  It was a 2002 Hyundai Accent GSI hatch back, it had a total of 47 km on it when I bought it and I loved it.  I drove that until 2005 when it was written off, it had about 80,000 km on it – it was still under warranty.  The accident was not my fault, the guy that rear ended me was texting and driving (just one reason I had a small celebration when the texting law went into place.)  I then purchased a Jeep, it was older – 1992, I was able to pay for that out right with my payment from the money I got from my accident.  Just this past year I purchased a 2008 Dodge Dakota, so you see I have purchased large things, but nothing quite as big as a house.

The responsibility of purchasing a car vs. a house are drastically different.  I did not purchase this house alone, my younger brother Cordee purchased it with me so I am not in this alone, I do not think is as apprehensive as I am about this whole thing, then again I do not think he has a particular aversion to growing up.

The month of December was filled with packing and organizing and packing some more, we moved into our new place on the 1st of January.  No I did not make a mistake, you read that correctly, January 1st at 6am I was getting ready to move a house.  For most people January 1st is the day they are nursing a hang over, I didn’t party on the 31st because I knew I had to be up and moving on the 1st.

It is a nice house, unpacking is taking a whole lot less time than it took to pack, I did however make a mistake.  A rather big mistake in my world, I forgot to set up the Telephone, cable and internet – I remembered the important stuff like heat, power and water.  So for now I have no internet access, and will not have internet access until the 23rd of this month.  How than am I writing this?  Simple, I am at my moms house using her internet connection because after a week without internet I was feeling a little detached from the world, I hate admitting that.

I have been on my own since I was about 18ish, I have lived in various places and never realized exactly how much furniture I do not have.  Seriously, I lack pretty much every piece of furniture that you need in a house.  I do not have a couch, or a bed, or a kitchen table,or a dresser or a TV.  OK so I do have a couch, kind of.  Its a futon, but I am sleeping on the mattress right now on my floor.  Needless to say my house looks kind of ridiculous, its OK though, next weekend my bed will be in my house, my living room will have a couch – no TV, but that’s optional.  I will use one of my laptops as TV, I may not have actual TV but I have so many DVDs that are still unopened that I will be kept entertained for a few days anyways.

 

Posted on January 7, 2012, in life, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

